Year 2

Let's be Geographers





Key knowledge:

The United Kingdom is made up of four different countries: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. London is England's capital city. Belfast is Northern Ireland's capital city. Edinburgh is Scotland's capital city. Cardiff is Wales' capital city

There are four seas border the UK; to the south by the English Channel, which separates it from continental Europe, to the east by the North Sea, to the west by the Irish Sea and the Atlantic Ocean

An aerial view is a photo taken from above. You can look at the geographical features of a place using an aerial photo

Map symbols are pictures, drawings or even letters that can be used on maps to represent things in real life. A map key gives the map reader information about each symbol displayed on the map.

Prior knowledge:

Children have explored a geography of the world, including the seven continents and five oceans.

Key vocabulary: Atlas Globe Characteristics

Continents Country Location Map Aerial Photograph Symbol Landmark

Learning journey for the topic

